Impatience about vegetables.

I’m far more excited than I ought to be, because nothing has actually happened yet, and it’s quite likely that nothing will, but I had a poke around on Lewisham’s website for information about the allotments which are located – almost literally – at the end my road. Lo, it came to pass that the council still had no information whatsoever about them.

A google revealed a complex arrangement involving a Guild, and some minutes from a meeting two years ago talking about a community garden (which to my knowledge hasn’t happened), but no contact info. I called the Lewisham allotment officer lady on the off-chance she’d know something about the land, and it turns out it’s privately owned. She’s passing my information along to their contact (it’s all a bit MI5, isn’t it? THE SPARROWS FLY IN WINTER. REPEAT: THE SPARROWS FLY IN WINTER. OVER).

I told her I’m only looking for a little one – really, in allotment terms I’m looking for a tiny one – I would probably be utterly thrilled to have something half the size of my silly little garden. However, I’m sure if I end up with something bigger than I can cope with, I can find someone to share with me, as Lewisham seems to be a great baying sea of people in need of lettuce space, and too little space to go around.

So there it is. The answer to the questions “what am I going to do once the garden is finished?” and “Where can I go to do or see something interesting whenever I want, that isn’t so far from my house that just getting there knackers me out?”

I hope I don’t get kicked out for being too slow/intermittent at getting stuff done. But hey, you’ve got to take a punt, haven’t you?

This entry was posted in gardening, this year. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impatience about vegetables.

  1. elaine4queen says:

    i took the dog on a new walk the other day, round the allotments. they were nearly all in good working use, and there were a lot of women doing stuff. i found it quite exciting. and they are not far from home, either.

    and i like vegetables.

    • chiller says:

      At least you can get into your local allotments – mine are locked up tighter than a Utah teenager!

      I’m half-really-hoping-I-get-one, half massively daunted by the idea – but I won’t let myself be daunted.

      • elaine4queen says:

        i am in two minds. i do little enough as it is, but ten might pledge elbow power. i’ve never lived near allotments before, so the issue has never come up for me, traveling being a deal breaker.

        always fancied a shed, though!

Leave a Reply

